Girl looking at X-rays, Girl doing chemistry, shot of a keyboard

School of Arts and Sciences

Teacher Education and Human Services

Mission - Teacher Education
The mission of the Department of Teacher Education is to prepare students to become education professionals by providing knowledge and skills that reflect the highest standards of quality in the field, and that form a foundation for lifelong learning.

A primary emphasis is to develop attitudes and values in students, which are indicative of caring, competent and committed educators and paraprofessionals. The Program supports children, families, and the community by educating entry level, transfer, and returning students in current professional practices and theory through classroom, clinical and field experiences.

Hours & Location
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Location: Audio/Visual Classroom Center 130
Phone Number: (567) 661-2531

Deborah Ciecka
Chair: Deborah Ciecka
Office: Audio/Visual Classroom Center 135
Phone: (567) 661-7283
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Email: deborah_ciecka@owens.edu


Sharon Libby
Director, Child Care Centers and Field Placement: Sharon Libby
Office: Audio/Visual Classroom Center 133
Phone: (567) 661-7649
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Email: sharon_libby@owens.edu


Department Secretary: Judy McCarthy
Email: judith_mccarthy@owens.edu
Location: Audio/Visual Classroom Center 130
Phone Number: (567) 661-2531

Faculty
  Faculty Discipline Office Email
Pam Chibucos Pam Chibucos Teacher Education AVCC 133 pamela_chibucos@owens.edu
  Mindy Gray Teacher Education Findlay 115Y melinda_gray@owens.edu
Elisa Huss-Hage Elisa Huss-Hage Teacher Education AVCC 131 elisa_husshage@owens.edu
John Miga John Miga Social Work AVCC 139 john_miga@owens.edu
  Sarah Twitchell (F) Social Work   sarah_twitchell@owens.edu

Part-Time Faculty
Part-Time Faculty Discipline Email
Mary Black Teacher Education mary_black@owens.edu
Belinda Gray Teacher Education belinda_gray@owens.edu
Sandra Hall Teacher Education sandra_hall@owens.edu
Kelli Kiesler (F) Teacher Education kelli-kiesler@owens.edu
Dionne Kinninger (F) Teacher Education dionne_kinninger@owens.edu
Belinda Kretzer Teacher Education belinda_kretzer@owens.edu
Pearl Manion Teacher Education pearl_manion@owens.edu
Marla Michelsen Teacher Education marla_michelsen@owens.edu
Sandra Miller (T) Teacher Education sandra_miller5@owens.edu
Ann Newton Teacher Education ann-newton@owens.edu
Ann O'Halloran Social Work ann_ohalloran@owens.edu
Mary Rizza Teacher Education mary_rizza@owens.edu
Anne Stockard Teacher Education anne_stockard@owens.edu
Maribeth Tercha (T) Teacher Education polly-taylorgerken@owens.edu
Sarah Twitchell Social Work sarah_twitchell@owens.edu
Tamara Wallace (F) Teacher Education tamara_wallace@owens.edu
Robin Walters-Powell (F) Social Work robin_walterspowell@owens.edu


Child Care Center - Toledo

Manager: Maribeth Tercha
Location: Child Care Center
Phone: (567) 661-7406
Email: maribeth_tercha@owens.edu

Teacher Coordinator: Marla Michelsen
Location: Child Care Center
Phone: (567) 661-7405
Email: marla_michelsen@owens.edu

Accounting Clerk: Sara Wilgus
Location: Child Care Center
Phone: (567) 661-7404
Email: sara_wilgus@owens.edu

Teachers
Teacher Discipline Location Email
Onevia Allen Pre-Sch CC Center onevia_allen@owens.edu
Kristin Burgoon Preschool CC Center kristin_burgoon@owens.edu
Cheryl Busdeker Infant/Toddler CC Center cheryl_busdeker@owens.edu
Amy Carey Preschool CC Center amy_carey@owens.edu
Heather Cashen Preschool CC Center heather_cashen@owens.edu
Michele Elton Studio Teacher CC Center michele_elton@owens.edu
Lydia Goduto Infant/Toddler CC Center lydia_guduto@owens.edu
Jaimie Hall Preschool CC Center jaimie_hall@owens.edu
Erin Holleran Preschool CC Center erin_holleran@owens.edu
Kathy Lauwers Infant/Toddler CC Center kathy_lauwers@owens.edu
Shelley Pomerson Pre-Sch CC Center shelly_pomerson@owens.edu
Beth Rice Pre-Sch CC Center beth_rice@owens.edu
Karen Stacey Infant/Toddler CC Center karen_stacey@owens.edu


Child Care Center - Findlay

Manager: Denise Hoeft
Location: Child Care Center
Phone: (567) 429-3159
Email: denise_hoeft@owens.edu

Accounting Clerk: Jan Tipton
Location: Child Care Center
Email: janyce_tipton@owens.edu

Teachers
Teacher Discipline Location Email
Christine Blide Toddler CC Center christine_blide@owens.edu
Betsie Hill Pre-Sch CC Center betsie_hill@owens.edu
Jason Marialke Pre-Sch CC Center jason_marialke@owens.edu
Lauren Osting Preschool CC Center lauren_osting@owens.edu
Emily Penton Toddler CC Center emily_penton@owens.edu
Julie Tinsman Toddler CC Center julie_tinsman@owens.edu


Advisory Committee - Toledo
Name Company
Vanessa Barker Owens Community College, Alumni Rep
Linda Borton Penta Career Center
Gary Cooke University of Toledo (retired)
Karen Bleeks Ohio College Tech Prep
Sandra Frisch Lucas County Office of Education
Sandra Hall Monroe County Head Start
Karen Lusiak Help Me Grow
Patricia McGreevy EOPA Toledo Head Start
Sherry Roush Apple Tree Nursery School
Kathy Smith WGTE Public Television
Theresa Towner YWCA Child Care Connections

Advisory Committee - Findlay
Name Company
Mary Burget Findlay High School
Karen Burwell YW Child Care Connections
Anita Earley Hancock Co Job & Family Services
Sue Freel Hancock Co Educational Service Center
Sue Hartzell Hancock Co Board of MRDD, Blanchard Valley School
Nancy Janton Millstream East (retired)
Ivy Maria HHWPCAC Head Start
Lynn McCasland Family Resource Center
Danielle Perkins Help Me Grow
Shelly Fannon HHWP-CAC Head Start

Visit Campus pictureOnline Classes picture