Girl looking at X-rays, Girl doing chemistry, shot of a keyboard

School of Arts and Sciences

Social and Behavioral Sciences

Mission - Social and Behavioral Sciences
To provide a process for students to be educated in human behavior through the disciplines related to economics, geography, government, psychology, and sociology.

Hours & Location
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Location: Founders Hall 1109
Phone Number: (567) 661-7521

Interim Co-chair, Economics: Jeremy Baker
(567) 661-7521

Interim Co-chair, Psychology: Kristin Price
(567) 661-7521

Interim Co-chair, Geography, Anthropology, and Sociology: Scott Deaner
(567) 661-7521

Interim Co-chair, Political Sciences: Megan Kerr
(567) 661-7521

Department Secretary: Carol Cervenec
Location: FH 118
Phone Number: (567) 661-7521
Email: carol_cervenec@owens.edu

Faculty
Faculty Discipline Office Email
Jeremy Baker Economics FH 1085 jeremy_baker@owens.edu
Ann Butzin Psychology/Sociology FH 1089 linda_butzin@owens.edu
Dennis Cole Sociology FH 1098 dennis_cole2@owens.edu
Lorry Cology Psychology FH 1090 lorry_cology@owens.edu
L. Scott Deaner Geography FH 1091 l_deaner@owens.edu
Jackie Haskins Psychology FH 1095 jacqueline_haskins@owens.edu
Megan Kerr Political Science FH 1092 megan_kerr@owens.edu
Jennifer Lamping Psychology EC 121  (F) jennifer_lamping@owens.edu
Kimberly Minke Psychology FH 1084 kimberly_minke@owens.edu
Marian Moore Sociology Findlay marian_moore@owens.edu
Kristin Price Psychology FH 1096 kristin_price@owens.edu
Steven Ross Psychology FH 1097 steven_ross2@owens.edu
Regina Siletti Sociology FH 1083 regina_siletti@owens.edu
Denise Shuster Sociology FH 1081 denise_shuster@owens.edu

Part-Time Faculty
Part-Time Faculty Discipline Email
Abele, Christoher Economics christopher_abele@owens.edu
Acors, Kara Government kara_acors@owens.edu
Adams-Miller, Andrea Psychology andrea_adamsmiller@owens.edu
Alberda, Gayle Ann Government gayle_alberda@owens.edu
Ballard, Chas. Louis Government chaslouis_ballard@owens.edu
Bradley, Janet Economics janet_bradley@owens.edu
Burel, Carla Sociology carla_burel@owens.edu
Byers, Christopher Sociology christopher_byers@owens.edu
Davis, Michelle Psychology michelle_davis4@owens.edu
DeShetler, Stacey Psychology stacey_deshetler@owens.edu
Dinklage, Heather Psychology heather_dinklage@owens.edu
Doyle, Larry Government larry_doyle@owens.edu
Ellenberg, Kevin Sociology kevin_ellenberg@owens.edu
Gamble, Jarvis Government jarvis_gamble@owens.edu
Gamso, Jonas Sociology jonas_gamso@owens.edu
Garman, Mary Economics & Government mary_garman@owens.edu
Garza, Diane Sociology diane_garza@owens.edu
Gulbis, Angelika Sociology angelika_gulbis@owens.edu
Gurney, Rebecca Psychology rebecca_gurney@owens.edu
Holleran, Shannon Psychology shannon_holleran@owens.edu
Hunt, Imelda Sociology imelda_hunt@owens.edu
Johnson, Tycie Psychology tycie_johnson@owens.edu
Keen, Michelle Psychology michelle_keen2@owens.edu
Kelley, Elizabeth Anthropology elizabeth_kelley@owens.edu
Kelsch, Amanda Interdisciplinary Studies amanda_kelsch@owens.edu
Kiefner, Allison Psychology allison_kiefner@owens.edu
Kiessling, Krista IDS & Sociology krista_kiessling@owens.edu
Kissinger, Kendel Sociology kendel_kissinger@owens.edu
Klimas, Diana Psychology diana_klimas@owens.edu
Krause, Ted Sociology theodore_krause@owens.edu
Lambert, Nicole Sociology nicole_lambert@owens.edu
Laurer, Elizabeth Psychology elizabeth_laurer@owens.edu
Lee, Ruby Psychology ruby_lee@owens.edu
Mayfield-Guerrero, Tinola Interdisciplinary Studies tinola_mayfieldguerrero@owens.edu
McClanahan, Dawn Government & Sociology dawn_mcclanahan@owens.edu
McConnell, James Government james_mcconnell@owens.edu
McKinney, Molly Sociology molly_mckinney@owens.edu
Mercer, Lynn Economics lynn_mercer@owens.edu
Modrzynski, Ashley Sociology ashley_modrzynski@owens.edu
Moran, Joseph Sociology joseph_moran4@owens.edu
Newcomer, Richard Psychology richard_newcomer@owens.edu
Nicholson, Jessica Psychology jessica_nicholson@owens.edu
Norman, Dennis Psychology dennis_norman2@owens.edu
Oberleitner, David Psychology david_oberleitner@owens.edu
Oehlhof, Marissa Psychology marissa_oehlhof@owens.edu
Olson, Chad Sociology chad_olson@owens.edu
Palko, Peter Psychology peter_palko@owens.edu
Perry, Howard Economics perry_howard@owens.edu
Pollex, Robert Government robert_pollex@owens.edu
Poole, Michelle Sociology michelle_poole@owens.edu
Purdy, Dean Sociology dean_purdy@owens.edu
Quintana-Ishaque, Claudia Economics claudia_quintanaishaque@owens.edu
Rainey, Kevin Psychology kevin_rainey@owens.edu
Raszka, David Government david_raszka@owens.edu
Raymond, Jack Sociology jack_raymond@owens.edu
Rizza, Mary Psychology mary_rizza@owens.edu
Rush, Angela Government angela_rush@owens.edu
Russell, Carol Psychology carol_russell@owens.edu
Sappington, Randy Psychology randy_sappington@owens.edu
Schroeder, Liz Psychology elizabeth_schroeder@owens.edu
Sferra, Chrisann Economics chrisann_sferra@owens.edu
Sherick, Amber Psychology amber_sherick@owens.edu
Shrewsberry, Andrea Government andrea_shrewsberry@owens.edu
Spalding, John Psychology john_spalding@owens.edu
Taylor-Gerken, Polly Psychology polly_taylorgerken@owens.edu
Thomson, Andrea Sociology andrea_thomson@owens.edu
Vail, James Government james_vail@owens.edu
Warnick, Ashlie Economics & Government ashlie_warnick@owens.edu
Weaver, Ryan Psychology ryan_weaver2@owens.edu
Westwood, Matthew IDS & Psychology matthew_westwood@owens.edu
Wolford, Katherine Psychology katherine_wolford@owens.edu

Programs Offered

Psychology Concentration Transfer
Sociology Concentration Transfer

Courses Taught in the Department

ANT

  • Cultural Anthropology
  • Physical Anthropology

ECO

  • Principles of Economics
  • Microeconomics
  • Macroeconomics

GOV

  • Comparative Government
  • American Government
  • State and Local Government
  • Contemporary Global Issues

GPH

  • Human Geography
  • Geography of the US and Canada
  • World Regional Geography

IDS

  • Capstone Seminar
  • Service Learning Capston

PSY

  • Prof/Career Issues Psychology
  • General Psychology
  • Industrial/Organizational Psychology
  • Psychology of Childhood
  • Social Psychology
  • Intro to Human Sexuality
  • Abnormal Psychology
  • Intro to Gerontology
  • Life Span Psychology
  • Educational Psychology

SOC

  • Sociology
  • Social Problems
  • Marriage and the Family
  • Multicultural Diversity in US
  • Criminology
  • Juvenile Delinquency
  • Medical Sociology
  • Women and Work
  • Sociology of Religion

Visit Campus pictureOnline Classes picture